Shooting Star Poetry

I spent the last several days wracking my brain for something to post today. Perhaps due to the emotionally jarring events in Boston and Texas this past week, I have felt neither clever nor funny. So when all else fails, I shall give you poetry. I dug around in the recesses of my old writings and found this fantasy piece, which turns out to be appropriate for the Lyrid meteor shower that’s been going on this weekend. Hope you enjoy.

“The Night Archer”

Beyond the reach of city lights,
a black velvet canvas opens up
into a vast hunting ground.

Aries, Draco, Phoenix—
pin pricks strung together
with invisible twine.

Artemis draws back her bow;
the crescent moon arches.
The bowstring twangs, vibrating

the air as her comet strikes
Leo, shattering into shards
that flicker to the ground like dust.

No bouquet can match the stars that blossom
from her quiver, nor any crown wrap
the tresses of her starlight strands.

Did anyone get up before dawn to see the  stars in action?

~~~

I hope you enjoyed your visit and come back for more!  You can subscribe using RSSTwitter, or Facebook.  And if you want to ensure you don’t miss any new releases, you can sign up for the newsletter!

~~~

Dreamstealer-AngelaWallace-600x900DREAMSTEALER is now available on AmazonB&N, and Kobo!

When her kingdom’s former enemy suspects their princess is a budding dreamwalker, Lexa is drafted out of retirement and sent to Teltania to train the twelve-year-old girl. But hidden agendas complicate her mission, and Lexa doesn’t know whom to trust. Meanwhile, her own dreamwalking powers are waning when she needs them most. Can Lexa decipher the mysteries at every turn, or will the dreamscape claim yet another dreamwalker?

 

8 comments on “Shooting Star Poetry

  1. Helen Howell says:

    Wonderful! I love the idea of star-bouquets. Thanks for posting this! :)

  2. Beautiful! I love poetry but haven’t never been able to pen it. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Alina Sayre says:

    Beautiful! I did not get up to watch shooting stars (didn’t even realize that was happening) but I like your poetry :)

  4. Lovely poem Angela. I’m a stargazer too:) but missed the Lryid meteor shower. When my kids were little I once got them up around 4 a.m. to sit in reclining lawnchairs to watch a meteor shower. Bad Mommy! It would have been quite fun to have your poem to read to them though. I think they would have enjoyed it too. Keep up the poetry!

    • Aw, thank you, Kate! I hope that after the grumbling your kids were entranced by the meteor shower. I can only remember seeing one in my life so far, and would love to see another one, though the 4am part does not help motivation.

Join the conversation!

