A Round of Words in 80 Days

Today kicks off Round 3 of A Round of Words in 80 Days, which I will be participating in for the first time.  It’s a writing challenge where we set our own goals, check in twice a week, and encourage each other to keep at it.  You can keep up with my goals and progress here, or click on the page above.  (You could also join.  😉 )

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been going through a writing funk.  Here I have summer stretched out before me with loads of free time, and I can’t bring myself to start my next manuscript.  I tried, and what I got was word poop, to quote Kristen Lamb’s recent post on Struggling with Burnout.

Over the past month I have embraced the funk and have occupied my time with other things: reading, drawing, cleaning, and blogging.  My creativity hasn’t shut down completely; I’ve just given it a chance at a different outlet.  The test comes this week, however, as I plunge into actual work.  Something will come of my efforts.  Good, bad, or poopy, I will write!  Thankfully, an idea struck the other day.  I’m not sure I like it, but since it’s a plausible subplot, I’m willing to mull it over and see what comes of it.

The idea came to me in the theater as I was watching a special showing of The Lord of the Rings, Return of the King extended edition.  Now, one might say that’s perfectly natural.  After all, LoTR has great storytelling, great characters, and a great plot.  What’s not to be inspired by?

Except I don’t think Gimli should engender thoughts about vampires.  Nuh-uh, not seeing the connection.  Talk about multitasking on the brain, trying to enjoy a mesmerizing tale of epic proportions and working out the motivations of a rogue vampire killer.  Seriously Muse, show some respect?  Sometimes you have the attention span of a two-year-old.

Anyway, wish me luck on this endeavor!  And in honor of this challenge, in this Monday’s short story it’s “Teagan’s Turn to Write.”

10 comments on “A Round of Words in 80 Days

  1. Susan A. says:

    I wish you luck on getting started on the new idea. One came to me about a week ago so I finally started writing out the full idea and doing research yesterday. Maybe I should join the writing challenge to keep me motivated. Regardless, I will be watching yours and seeing how you are doing. The one book you wrote was great so I am sure you can do it again!

  2. Good luck Angela! I may join in next week. I have some major things to take care of this week, so I know it’s not even a possibility. I’ll be doing good just to keep up with my blog. I wish you a very successful 80 days! 🙂

  3. lynmidnight says:

    That’s great for you! Wait… can one join after the start? I was thinking about it but it kicked off last night right? Anyway… *shakes it off* Vampires huh? I need more. 😀

    So I’m in a funk as well. I don’t know what it is about summer that makes me … well, go in a funk (it even shows in this comment, doesn’t it, lol). I am hoping that I will prevail because I have a WIP to edit (BIG TIME). So what do you say? Poke each other once in a while to make sure we’re both on track. 😛

    I’m not sure if I should join the 80 thing though… I’ve just joined another thing and my online life (was gonna say onlife line, lol) is starting to resemble a circus. 😀

    • You can jump in anytime at one of the check-in dates, which are twice a week, so plenty of opportunities. 🙂 But I’d be happy to poke you every so often. 😉

      You know, I used to tell myself I would never write a vampire story because there are so many out there, but I recently acknowledged that they are out there and people love them. So I will say that I still do not write vampire stories; my protags are something else. 😉 But, vampires exist in my mythos, and I may occasionally include them in subplots.

  4. lynmidnight says:

    Ignore the repeated ‘thing’ bug and read: GOOD LUCK and HAVE FUN!

  5. Katy says:

    Oooo should I? Shouldn’t I?! It sounds like just the thing I need to get my ass into gear.

    In any case, good luck with your goals Angela. Also, totes jealous that you got to go to the theatre for a special LOTR showing!

  6. Yay for new books! I’ve always used NaNo to write my first drafts, but it’s finally time to get all those drafts edited 😛

Join the conversation!