Guilty Pleasures

Hi, my name is Angela, and I’m a glutenoholic.  I’ve been clean and gluten-free for 4 days.  Yeah, I fall off the wagon–a lot.  It’s just that McDonald’s is the perfect comfort food when I’m having a bad day.  And then there’s Arby’s, which I treat myself to when I have a *great* day and I want to celebrate something.  I know, there’s something wrong with that picture.  Oh, and then there’s Panda Express, which is just everyday temptation.  And Taco Bell, though it really isn’t fair that they put oats in their meat.

 

Ok, all this talk of food is just torturing myself.  What other guilty pleasures do I have…

When I’m in a particularly sour mood, I watch movies of mass destruction.  Independence Day and Godzilla are great for indulging that voice in my head that wants to squash things.  Better the numerous, nameless extras on screen than those around me.  Catharsis–good medicine, though I much prefer our contrived attempts at it over the ancient Romans’ practice of using slaves in their plays for actual death scenes.  I’m content with fake blood.

When I’m stressed out to the point where my head explodes, I curl into a ball and watch classic Disney movies.  Life was simpler as a kid.  Although as an adult I also appreciate the veiled comments and vocabulary meant to entertain parents that kids would never understand.  It’s something I find sorely missing from kids’ movies/television productions today.

And when I simply lack the motivation to snap my limbs out of a gelatinous state, I turn to Castle.  Comedy plus crime drama with a splash of writer–my heaven.  (Not so much a guilty pleasure as an indulgence.)

“There are two kinds of folks who sit around thinking about how to kill people, psychopaths and mystery writers.  I’m the kind that pays better.”

If there is anyone out there who has not seen Castle, rectify it immediately!  In fact, today I am taking the first season and forcing my best friend to watch a marathon with me.  😀

Okay, I have another confession.  I love spoilers.  I am addicted to spoilers.  More accurately, I’m addicted to recaps, all details provided.  When I stumble upon a book series or television series for the first time, but it’s been around for a while, I will not wait to read/watch every single book/episode.  I will Google it, find a recap, and summarize my way through til the end.  Then I will read/watch the originals.  While I would never give away spoiler information myself, I am grateful for those people who take the time to do so.  I will harbor you when the witch trials come.

Have any guilty pleasures?  When you’re sad, mad, or reduced to a sniveling puddle on the floor after going ten rounds with the WIP?

Blog Mash-up

Living Life Down Under: Katy explains to all us northern hemisphere people what it’s like having Christmas in the summer!

Wise Winamp Wed: Ask the all-knowing anything you want by Lyn Midnight.  As for the answers…don’t drink and read.

Tips for Being a Healthy Writer by Kristen Lamb: Feeling lazy?  The pictures of cesspools can be quite motivating.

Important Notes On What Readers Do Not Want To See In A Story by Mistress Suzie: A must-read, writers!

Tele-Tuesday, 1996 by Tiffany A White: Take a trip down memory lane.

Also, Smashwords is having its annual Summer/Winter sale (Summer in the North, Winter in the South), and my paranormal romance, Phoenix Feather, is half off!

26 comments on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Thank you for the shout-out & linkage! You know my guilty pleasure…TV! 🙂

  2. Stacy Green says:

    Chocolate and anything sweet is my guilty pleasure. I can’t do fast food much because it makes me sick, but if I’m feeling down, stressed, happy, etc … I want something sweet. I fight the temptation all day long, every day, lol.

    If I’m feeling especially blah, I like to curl up and watch B horror movies, lol. You know the kind that are just so bad you can’t tear your eyes away?

    • Mhm, chocolate. That used to be a guilty pleasure too, until it gave me a migraine for 10 days straight. Now I don’t touch the stuff.

      B horror movies, nice. Is it the cathartic experience? “Hey, my life isn’t so bad; I’m not getting chopped to bits or eaten by zombies.”

  3. tisfan says:

    I don’t HAVE guilty pleasures. Something either pleases me, or it doesn’t.

    That being said, I love things that OTHER people think I should feel guilty about; bad movies (Shoot ‘Em Up is one of my favorite absolutely HORRIBLE movies), trashy romances (aren’t they all, and that is why I LOVE them… addicted to my HEA!) bad music (ABBA, Bon Jovi, Miley Cyrus, Kei$ha) and buying shoes I’ll never wear.

    • Lol. And which stage is denial again? I have a thing for jackets. I love buying jackets, but there is that problem of not wearing them often enough to justify the purchase.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  4. Linda Burke says:

    Angela: Really good gluten free bagels – http://udisglutenfree.com/
    I found it at Whole Foods and at a small local nutrition store.

    Most of the time I don’t even try to have a “bread” or “pasta” at my meals. Have learned to do without.

    Linda Burke/LBurkeWriter

    • Hey Linda, thanks for stopping by. I just found Udi’s bagels a couple weeks ago, and I love them! At home, I eat all gluten-free. Eating out is harder, and sometimes I just have those cravings.

  5. amber says:

    Also, my guilty pleasure, at the moment, is Broadway musicals. I am a dork. 🙂

  6. I lost a little respect for you at the beginning of this post (I haven’t eaten fast food in Four Years!), but you gained it back with the Disney Movies! 🙂 I ❤ Disney Movies.

  7. Oh yeah, and we already know what MY guilty pleasure is. Ponies! ^_^

  8. Susan A. says:

    Lol, Angela, sometimes, if I want to know if a book series is worth reading then I’ll read reviews for the later books to see if it is worth it. That causes me to know more than I should.

    I have also been retweeting any good spoiler tidbits I find out about the Vampire Diaries, season three. Such as Ian Somerhalder saying he wasn’t required to wear clothes today for the episode he is filming. That was an interesting detail.

    As I told you before, though, White Chocolate Mochas are my guilty pleasure. I only drink them about once every month or two though because I’m lactose intolerant and they wreak havoc on my tummy. I could take meds for that, but then I would eat way too many things that are fattening, so I let the lactose intolerance prevail.

    • All things in moderation. *grin* I have meds for when I eat gluten too, and I try to at least limit it to every two weeks. Mark it on the calendar. And I usually treat myself to a donut once a year. Yes, there are lots of good, gluten-free substitutes now, but nothing compares to the original.

  9. lynmidnight says:

    Angelaaaa. I love this post. So INSPIRED! How did I not think of that?! By God… Anyway. I haven’t watched Castle and I may rectify it if you give me a good reason. 😛

    I love mexican food! Too bad we don’t have it here (that I know of). I only like subway but like Becka, I try to stay off it. And I LOVE watching mass destruction also, especially Natural Disasters. I always have. It’s a weird desire to see the impossible happen and people scrambling to survive.

    Finally, thanks for including my post. You’re the best! 🙂

    • No Mexican food?! That’s tragic. It’s one of the few places I can get gluten free dishes.

      Oh yes, natural disaster movies are awesome! Except the volcano ones; I don’t like those. I love The Day After Tomorrow. It has nearly every disaster you can think of *except* volcanoes. 😀

  10. lynmidnight says:

    Did I mention my biggest guilty pleasure is TV series? All of them. Yeap.

  11. Castle…. BEST FREAKIN SHOW EVER.

    Just thought I should throw it out there after you, yknow.. just in case someone still hasn’t gotten the urge to go watch it 🙂

  12. Katy says:

    Thanks for the shout out Angela! I loooove curling up to Disney movies too 🙂

  13. Angela — Another great post! My guilty pleasure was Dublin Dr. Pepper. But, I’m 5 and 1/2 weeks into soda free living. So, I’ll have to find another. Castle is definitely on my list of indulgences I don’t plan on giving up any time soon! 🙂

  14. Okay, Angela, I checked out Castle and now I’m hooked — only took 6 minutes watching the first episode. I can now add it to my list of “guilty pleasures”. Thanks. 🙂

Join the conversation!