Confessions of a Versatile Blogger

Earlier this month, I was awarded the Versatile Blogger Award by two fabulous ladies, Marcy Kennedy and Sharon Howard.  Thank you!  Be sure to check out the awesomeness of their blogs.

Before I take the pleasure of passing this award along, I must list seven random things about myself.  Let’s see if I can come up with any new material.  😉

1. I kill flowers.  Not intentionally!  But so far not a single blooming plant has survived living with me.  Even now, the orchid, a plant that’s supposed to survive anywhere, is losing its flowers one by one, shriveling into dried corpses.  I am very distraught over it.

2. Whenever I learn something new, it usually works its way into the novel I’m writing at the time.  When I wrote Elemental Magic, I’d just taken a Tai Chi class–Tai Chi became my main character’s method of relaxation.  When I wrote Dry Spell, I had just ventured into the land of social media, and then one of my characters became a professional blogger with her own Twitter hashtag.

3. The very first CD I ever owned was Spice Girls.  It would have been quite the scandal in my house if my dad found out, so my mom, sister, and I only played it when he wasn’t at home.

4. I love lists.  I make to-do lists for everything–daily to-do lists, monthly to-do lists, lists for things to watch out for in editing.  I buy those page-a-day calendars so I can use them as notes.  Current count on my desk: 9 lists.  (7 of them are actually writing related.)

5. Every year I buy a fantasy art calendar like Nene Thomas or Josephine Wall, then at the end of the year I cut it up and put the pictures on my wall like posters.

6. I can recite every line from all three of the LoTR extended movies, in order.  I would love to be able to watch them for the very first time again.

7.  In college, I learned how to write in Tengwar, Tolkien’s elvish runes.  My friend and I used to write letters to each other in them.  Now, it just comes in handy for hiding passwords.

Now I get to pass this award along!  Congrats my fellow bloggers!  Remember, when you post about receiving this award, list seven random things about yourself, and then pass the award along.  And don’t forget to let those winners know.

1. Alina Sayre~Illuminations–She blogs on writing, cooking, books, and how faith brings them all together.

2. Jessica O’Neal–She’s already received this award, but her blog is newly discovered on my end, so there you go.  😉

3. Rebecca Enzor–She’s gotten this award in the past, but I just have to highlight her Custom of the Week posts.  If you love My Little Pony, these Sunday features are a must!

4. Jennifer Kirchner–In addition to her Vote Your Own Adventure series, she’s added some more nerdy pursuits to her blogging topics, such as gaming.  You absolutely must read her post on Kirk vs. Picard.

Thanks for playing!

32 comments on “Confessions of a Versatile Blogger

  1. showard76 says:

    haha, I also kill flowers, although my problem seems to be more tat I don’t ever think to water them… oops!
    Thanks for pointing out some more great blogs to follow! 🙂

  2. Congrats! And Spice Girls – yay 🙂

  3. Thank you so much ^_^

    I used to cut up my calendars and use them as posters too! But they were all dolphins 😛

  4. Congrats on a very deserved award!
    I read these facts about you and realized that we share a few: number 2, 4, and 5! Although I buy various art and photography calendars, but at the end of the year I save them and often use for my watercolor painting inspiration.

    How did you learn Tolkien’s elvish? I’m so jealous! I the biggest LOTR geek 🙂

    • Some calendar pictures are just too gorgeous to throw out at the end of the year.

      Yay LoTR geeks! I didn’t actually learn the pure form, but a slightly easier alphabet I found online. Of course, there’s no X or Q in Tengwar, so my friend and I had to make those up.

  5. Congrats on the award, Angela!!

    And don’t feel bad about killing flowers. I am not kidding when I tell you that I have literally killed a cactus plant before – after I was told I couldn’t. It wasn’t an experiment, really it wasn’t; I just have a black thumb.

    I also LOVE lists. I have multiple on my desk as I type this – a normal task and daily chore list, a writing list, an editing list, a blogging list, and a freelance list. Oh, and each list is in a different notebook. I love composition books. Hehe

  6. Jessica O'Neal says:

    Thank you so, so much! I am truly honored that you would pass this award on to me. 😀

    That is quite impressive about the LotR movies! That’s a lot of lines to have memorized. Of course, I am pretty much that way with the Harry Potter movies and a few others. I know what you mean about wishing you could watch those movies again for the first time. I will never forget the experiences of watching all three of the LotR movies in the theater.

    • You’re welcome, Jessica. 🙂 I can kind of remember what it felt like to watch them for the first time. I remember being scared. I remember crying. LoTR doesn’t make me cry anymore. 😦

  7. Congrats on the award – much deserved – and I love, love, love that you have so many calendars. I do too! lol. I do daily, weekly, yearly, 5 year, etc. goals too. Kind of centers me. 🙂

    • Thanks Bridgette! Haha, I used to get two calendars and have them both up on my wall because I loved the pictures so much. Now I have more of them cut up than I have space on my walls for!

  8. Congrats on your award Angela – so deserving. I loved your random facts. I also accidentally kill plans and flowers. LOL!

  9. Stacy Green says:

    Congrats on the award! I have to laugh about your killing flowers. I’m notorious for killing houseplants, but my outside plants always do well.

  10. Congratulations on a well-deserved award! Tengwar? Really? That’s amazing! It looks like you are right about the need for a support group for people who kill house plants. Is it endemic to writers?

  11. Congratulations! Your random facts are so much fun. Nice to know I have plant killing friends to keep me company. Seriously, it must be in our blood.

    Okay, the fact that you taught yourself Tengwar just made you my favorite LOTRs fan ever. That is so cool.

  12. I had to laugh over your #1. I kill plants too. My mom and both my grandmas are wonderful with plants. They can make anything grow. And they’re afraid to leave a plant with me for any length of time. I currently have two plants which I’ve named in the hope that it will help them live longer 🙂

  13. T.F.Walsh says:

    Congrats on the award… wow you could write in Tengwar, Tolkien’s elvish runes – how cool. Can you still do it?

  14. Congratulations, Angela! I share your inability to keep flowers around. Or any plant for that matter. Houseplant homicide, though not limited to inside plants. I gave up on gardening long ago. It’s wonderful to learn more about you, even after all these months! You are so deserving of this award!!!!

  15. Katy says:

    You can write in elvish runes?! You absolutely must write something down and take a photo of it to share with us! Perhaps we could try and translate it!? How very cool! And congrats on the award; well deserved as always.

  16. […] of poetry, as requested from my Confessions of a Versatile Blogger post, here’s a sample of my […]

Join the conversation!

