You’re A Firework

It’s Friday Fancies over here and I’ve got music and singing for you–only this type of singing doesn’t use pitch and tone.  This video is a beautiful ASL interpretation of Katy Perry’s song “Firework.”  Some people think American Sign Language is just English on the hands, but it is its own language.  It has its own structure and grammatical rules.  Sometimes there are signs that correspond with English words; often there are not.  (That’s what makes being an interpreter so fun and challenging!)

Have you seen ASL before?  Even if you don’t know the language, were you able to feel the emotion from the signer?  I hope you enjoyed it.  Have a great weekend everybody!

12 comments on “You’re A Firework

  1. Hartford says:

    Ahhhhhmazing! Thank you for sharing. I had no idea. Stunning!

  2. Katy says:

    This really is quite spectacular!

  3. You touched my heart. Thanks. Have a great weekend too.

  4. That’s great 🙂 Thanks for sharing it.

    Many years ago a good friend was studying ASL and I picked up a few things from her. Sadly, I didn’t retain anything but the alphabet. Definitely one of those things if you don’t use it you lose it.

  5. Awesome, educational, emotional. Thank you for offering us more awareness of this beautiful language.

  6. I’m glad you guys enjoyed it. 🙂

  7. Alica says:

    So beautiful! I didn’t realize ASl was it’s own language- how interesting. I’ve always wanted to learn ASL- maybe I will now.

  8. Amazing and full of passion! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  9. That was great – thank you! My best friend is a speech pathologist and I always love to watch her sign to songs. It’s beautiful.

  10. Saronai says:

    I don’t know much ASL at all, I have seen it before. This made me teary-eyed anyway. A beautiful song to choose to provide ASL for. Thanks ❤

  11. Megan Nafke says:

    An amazing clip. It was beautiful and brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  12. Learning to sign is one of those on my to-do list. Much like the written word, it is a creative form of communication – at least I think it is. So beautiful!

Join the conversation!

